A haiku for my last night in Banda Aceh

By the way, I don’t know much about writing haikus.

Original version (or actually version 3, where I wrote by word count 5-7-5)

Midnight bathing in the sea-

Moonlit friends sing under stars by caves

Pushed and pulled by waves

Version 2 (or actually six, seven, and eight or so, where I struggled to go by syllable count)

Midnight sea bathing-

Moon and starlit song by caves

Pushed and pulled by waves

Sea bath at midnight-

Moon and stars light song by caves

Pushed and pulled by waves

Sea bath at midnight-

Song heard by moon, stars, and caves

Pushed and pulled by waves

Sea bath at midnight-

Moonlit friends sing by dark caves

Pushed and pulled by waves

Dedicated to the wonderful, vivacious friends who were there with me that late night before the Japan Fellows’ 6am flight to Yogyakarta. Thanks for making sure I lived it up til the very last moments. (No sleep for me.)

(Japan and Banda Aceh Fellows + 1 Obie)

(so worth the village spectacle we caused.)

One thought on “A haiku for my last night in Banda Aceh

Leave a Reply

